Australia!! :-)
Well here I am again... amazing eh? updating twice in a week after such a long absence, oh well, I've had so much of my mind lately, that it's just driving me nuts. I'm not sure if I mentioned in my last entry the job that I got to work starting in May, it's basically a low-level Kernel programming job, writing linux and maybe even Mac drivers for USB devices. Well... it's for this little company called Phidgets and they operate out of two offices, one here in Calgary and another in Australia, (and they're opening in Japan and the US soon). Guess where they want me to work? That's right, I just got a call this morning and they need to fill in a position down under! So what do I do? Well the opportunity to go to Australia!! I mean how could I pass that up? I've wanted to visit Australia since I was very young, pretty much all my life, I mean lately I've been more interested in Europe, but you know how it is. I start May 16th, so you guys had better come see me before I go down, I won't be able to come back a visit much.

Of course there are some other issues with this whole thing. Mostly Steph. She's really excited for me but at the same time, sad. Seeing as she's already registered for summer courses she can't come with me, but she's going to look into some Australian Universities and see if she can finish off her degree there and come to live with me. As it is, just getting started, I probably won't be able to come back until Christmas, but hopefully Steph and I will be living together at that point.

I still have to tell my mom, that should be interesting. She's all very protective of me and such and doesn't even want me to move out at all (until now, we'd all assumed that I'd be working here in Calgary). She actually wanted me to stay at home, and pay rent to her, because it would be cheaper then moving out, but I've really wanted to move out for quite a while now.

I've also been thinking a lot about the big changes happening and entering the real world and all that, and I think that it might be a good time to let everyone know... Well. Steph and I are engaged to be married. I actually asked her before Christmas (and of course she accepted), but we decided that considering our families, we should probably keep it quiet until I get out of school and into more of a stable place. Far be it for me to seem unromantic, but if you know my mother you know what I mean. Steph's parents I'm sure will be fine with it, they've been expecting for a long time anyways, but I'm very nervous about telling my mom I mean: "Hey mom, I'm getting married and moving to Australia".... well you'd have to know my mom. Sorry about not letting you guys know earlier...

Well anyways, I'd better go, have any of you guys aver been to Australia or know stuff?? I'm interested, as much as I've wanted to go I don't really know anything about it...

Oh yeah I almost forgot, in a surprising move, mom has decided to take me and my sister on a 1-week vacation after exams in celebration of graduation, but we have to decide where to go, the choices are things like Mexico, Cuba, or a cruise. I personally would like the cruise but my sister and mom want beaches, meh. So anyways, I have to get a passport but my drivers license is expired! (which I just noticed) and I have a speeding ticket that I just got a couple days ago, so I had to pay that off this morning, but apparently you don't get your licence right away when you renew like you used to, so now I won't get it in time, I just have to hope that I can use my health card or something as id...

Anyways, gotta go.

-Pat

1:02 pm - April 01, 2005
Last - Next