GPS
well... I don't really feel like programming, so I'll update!

I'm sitting outside at Steph's house, pretending to program as she sits in the tub, and I enjoy the use of my portable wireless access point :)

I'm supposed to be writing two network programs in C - one that will get HTTP headers from any given http address, and another that will act as a simple proxy server - to pass http data through between sender and reciever...

I'm also supposed to be working on the Jason project, which keeps getting put off, and keeps having new requested features added on.. I think I might get into trouble with that one if I'm not carefull...

You see, Steph wanted to go into the hot tub to read her textbook, but I don't have any textbooks with me - not any paper ones at least - so here I sit, high and dry, on my laptop.

This morning was a total bust again - at least school wise - though I did manage to get some cool GPS stuff working, and I ordered a serial-to-USB adapter from the micro store so I can hook my GPS unit up to my mac via a data cable, which I ordered from eBay.

I have to admit that I wanted the GPS to go wardriving and using a program for my Mac - Kismac, having it automatically use the GPS to overlay wireless hotspots onto a city map as I drive around, so that i can later peruse them, and then upload them to a central database server for others to use - as of yet, no one has submitted any Calgary APs to the server, so I will be the first. I also have plans to modify the USB-Serial adapter to route USB power though to the GPS so that it can be powered from my laptop, since the bettery life is not too great and they are non-rechargeable. To get the proper voltage, I plan to solder some diodes into the ciruit to drop the voltage from the USB standard of 5v to the 3v that the GPS requires.

Also, I've always wanted a GPS anyways, and admitedly, I probably won't use it. But it's cool and it's a gadget, so nonw I havfe another cool gadget. It might come in handy when I hike. We'll see.

I also noticed today that the university has an extensive collection of aerial photos of many areas, especially Calgary. I plan to go and find my house :) They also have .5m resolution orthophotos - besically looking down from staright above - like satelite, but good quality.

Anyways, I need to get to programming.

bye

-Allanon

3:41 pm - October 05, 2004
Last - Next